Author Spotlight · Elizabeth Morgan · Interview

Interview & Spotlight with indie author Elizabeth Morgan

Elizabeth Morgan is a British indie author who mix and match different genres. She has also blog interview she did with me.
With her blog she supports other indies to spread the word about their work – I have been there on a couple of blog tours and I am thrilled to share with you an interview I did with her:
Elizabeth talks about writing different genres under one pen name, how she went indie a lot more!
 

1. according to your bio, you live in a cottage and have a garden and a couple of cats. Can you share with the readers what is a typical day for the author Elizabeth Morgan?
I go to work – and I know stating that I have another job takes away the air of mystery about myself, but I do have another job lol – and when I get back I grab myself a cup of tea, top up biscuits and water for the cats and spend half an hour with them because they like to act as though I had abandoned them for a whole year.

I get changed and then I am on the computer for the rest of the evening; checking emails, social media, doing a little promoting etc. I do break to have supper and then I try to get some writing done.

Not every day is like that as a) it depends on what shifts I do at work – sometimes I work nights – and if I have a day off I would jump on the computer for a bit, and then go do some cleaning or gardening, if the weather is nice. But I do tend to do most of my writing in the evening; I just find it easier to concentrate. Plus, I know I won’t get disturbed by phone calls or someone knocking on the front door.

2. You write in a variety of genres, from contemporary, urban fantasy, erotica, and so on. Some authors use different pen names if they write different genres. How does it work for you to use the same pen name for all the variation that you write? Has it been an advantage?
My author tag line is; A pick ‘n’ mix genre author. “I’m not greedy. I just like variety.”

This has been my personal tag line from the beginning. As a reader, I like to read many different genres. As a writer, although there are genres I tend to lean more toward, I wanted – and still do – to be able to write any genre.

I get why a lot of authors have different pen names for the genres they write, but it never really made sense for me. So, that is what the tag line is for and why I picked it. I want all potential readers to know straight off that I write any genre and that is what they will notice when they look at my work/site.

An advantage… I’m not sure. I like to think that if a reader really loves a certain genre, and I have written a story in that genre, then I have catered for them, but just because it is a genre they like doesn’t me they will like my story, or character, or writing style. I suppose it has been more of a gamble and one that, so far, is working well for me.

3. Tell us about the beginning. How, why and when you decide to publish your first book and which title was that?
I have been writing for the simple joy of it, on an off for years. When I was studying Musical Theatre in college some of our assignments were to write scripts, and that is when I started writing with the drive to do something with the stories I was creating.

So, I wrote some scripts and sent them off to various theatre groups, but nothing ever happened. One day my friend – who had finished reading one of my scripts – said, “you should write a book. You give so much detail which no one will ever see in a script, but in a book you can go crazy.”

It took me a year and a half before I actually sat down to start planning a book – which ended up being Cranberry Blood (Blood Series: Book One) though it was nothing like the story that is published today – and then a year to write, but I tried; I loved every minute of it and I haven’t stopped since.

4. What influences your writing? Where do you charge the batteries of inspiration when creating? Do you have any favourite authors or stories?
Everything influences my writing. I just seem to absorb things and then have crazy thoughts or dreams – a lot of my story ideas started as dreams – and go from there. I don’t have a particular place or ritual that I go/do to charge my batteries. I think I should probably change that, because as an author your mind is constantly active and with real life throwing curve balls at you all the time, well, your batteries can drain quickly. I do like sitting in my garden. I like being outside, which seems to help a lot.

I like a lot of authors, the ones that always come to mind first; Patrica Briggs, Iiona Andrews, Kelley Armstrong, Lara Adrian, Kit Rocha, Dianna Hardy, are all but a few authors you will find on my bookshelf.

Fave stories; I love The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook, the world building is mind blowing and the story and characters are amazing. And I will read anything Dianna Hardy writes because I know I will just love it. She is a wonderful writer with a brilliant voice and ideas. I love all her books/series, but I have to say that her Once Times Thrice Series is just beautiful and both stories had me crying, but feeling so moved and hopeful by the end.

5. Which are the biggest challenges for you as indie writer and publisher? Why?
I think the biggest challenges for any indie author is promoting your work with the hope of getting sales. There are so many options nowadays, but you never know which option will prove successful in generating sales, or be the right option which will get your books to your audience.

6. Which of your book titles had opened more doors to you as author in terms of success? How do you measure success?
When I originally published She-Wolf (Blood Series: Prequel) with an ex-publisher, I found that book sold well. I was still an unknown author, but it sold. I think it was partly because the book is a Werewolf Romance. Werewolves and Shifters are very popular.

But I have to say that since I turned to self-publishing doors have opened for me more, especially when I got the rights back for She-Wolf and book one in the series, Cranberry Blood. The re-release of those two books really made a difference to sales, but also to interest off readers. I believe it’s because I had more say in the promotional side of the books and the packaging. Covers are very important. Everyone loves a visual and the covers are what grab your reader’s eye.

Success to me is the fact that I still get to write; that I have at least sold one book. I have sold one copy of each of my books and that’s awesome. I get wonderful reviews and I have met some lovely and very talented people since I started 5 years ago. I’m just really thankful that I can continue writing and sharing my stories.

7. What is your biggest ambition?
Once upon a time, I wanted to be an actress. It’s a desire that still burns way deep inside, but I just want to live a creative life. I want to create and share.

I would love for just one of my stories to be made into a TV show or a film. That would be awesome, but I have to say that my biggest ambition is to either go back into acting – and I would still write there is no way I could stop – or maybe start my own production company; theatre or film, maybe both.

8. What are you working on right now?
I have just re-released my short f/f, erotic horror, On the Rocks which you can download free from Kindle Unlimited or buy for 99 cents from Kindle.
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2ajcUWs
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2amHr3f
Next, I shall be starting on Blood Series Book 1.5, which will be a novella staring a new hero to the world of the Blood Series and a heroine we have only heard about. 🙂


She has recently published a new edition for
ON THE ROCKS
BLURB:
On the Rocks is the hottest club on South Padre Island, and Meghan’s new workplace.
If the warped mermaid uniform isn’t enough, the fact that she can’t stop thinking about the club’s singer, Zenzie, is. Everything about the female gets Meghan hot, but when she finally gets her shot with the temptress, it turns out Zenzie isn’t as perfect, or as human, as Meghan thought.

Length: 6,000 words | Content: F/F, Erotic Paranormal/Horror | Publisher: Elizabeth Morgan

BUY LINKS:
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2ajcUWs
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2amHr3f


By the way, I love her cover! and I did a review of her story, which you can read here:
MY REVIEW – 5 out of 5 stars

I had never read an Erotica before. (Not kidding!) So this is my first read within the genre and I am glad it had to be a story by Elizabeth Morgan. She writes exceptionally well and there’s a great flow in the plot.

On the Rocks is a Horror/Dark Fantasy subgenre short story, and that’s the main reason why I enjoyed it, as a big fan of both styles. Now, imagine, combining something dark and spooky with something beautifully sexy and you have a roller-coaster of moods throughout the book! Like, going from a “hot” moment to a “chilling cold” creepy scene! (That’s brilliant!)

In the space of a short story the author was also able to show nice characterization. The protagonists (and others as well) read like very distinct personalities, which adds more depth to the work.

I cannot tell much of the story without spoiling things. So let’s say I’d have to create a logline for On the Rocks, that would be “Hot bartender chick meets mermaid from Hell.” Now, go on, grab your copy and have some fun!

4 thoughts on “Interview & Spotlight with indie author Elizabeth Morgan

Leave a Reply

